Weekend and after Hours Appointments Available
Free Initial Consultation   217-414-8889

In The Media :

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices in Illinois: The FAQs

In Illinois, Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices are more common than you might think. According to the Illinois Office of the Secretary of State, around 12,000 people in the state drive around with one of these devices installed in their truck or car each year.

Ignition_interlock_device_on_Scania_Postbus._Spielvogel

A BAIID device will not allow you to start your vehicle until you’ve breathed into it and the device has determined you’re not impaired by checking your blood alcohol content, which must be below .025. The state also requires the installation of a camera on the device that captures a video of you breathing into the machine.

BAIID and First-Time DUI Offenders

If you’re charged with DUI for the first time, state laws automatically suspend your license, and this can last for six months if you’re convicted. In order to drive, you need to get a special permit known as the Monitoring Device Driving Permit. If you’re approved for the permit, you have a total of 14 days to get a BAIID installed on all the cars you want to drive, and the installation must be by a vendor that has been approved by the Secretary of State’s office. You’ll have to use the device for the entire length of your license suspension in order to be able to drive legally.

The Fee Rundown

All of the fees associated with a BAIID are your responsibility, and they can run into hundreds of dollars. Fees vary by vendor, but the Secretary of State’s Office outlines the current general costs as follows:

  • Device installation: $85, which you pay directly to the vendor you choose.
  • Monthly fee for BAIID rental: $80 each month, also paid directly to your chosen vendor.
  • Monitoring fees: $30 each month paid to the Secretary of State’s Office. This fee has to be paid in advance for you to receive the special permit and is not refundable.
  • What If I Decline the BAIID?

You can decide not to have the special permit or BAIID and instead simply not drive during your suspension period. However, if you don’t take part in the program and are caught driving during your suspension period, you face being charged with a Class 4 felony. The same applies to a person who does have the device and permit but is caught driving a car that doesn’t have a BAIID installed in it. This level of felony carries a prison sentence of between one and three years and fines of up to $25,000.

If you’ve been charged with DUI in Illinois, you face serious consequences for your life and severe and costly restrictions on your ability to drive. Contact seasoned DUI attorneys Springfield Illinois to help you defend your rights when you’re facing such a serious charge.

Contact us to receive a Free Initial Consultation

  • Please tell us about your case and our lawyers will get back to you as soon as possible.
  • I have read and agree with the disclaimer.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Why choose Noll Law Office LLC?

Free Consultation

Click Here

Areas Served

Click Here

Reviews

Click Here
       
Noll Law Office, LLC
930 East Monroe Street,
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Tel: 217-414-8889

Free Initial Consultation

217-414-8889