If you have been charged with Driving on a Suspended License or Driving on a Revoked License, you face serious criminal charges in addition to a longer period of suspension. In order to understand your rights and learn about the potential penalties and defenses, contact our Driving on a Suspended/Revoked License Defense Lawyers for a free and confidential initial consultation.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended or Driving on a Revoked License
The penalties for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License vary greatly depending on why you are suspended or revoked and how many prior convictions you may have. The first factor regarding Driving on a Suspended License and Driving on a Revoked License penalties is why your driver’s license was suspended or revoked. If your suspension or revocation is based upon a prior Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction, the penalties are more harsh than if your suspension or revocation was for unpaid traffic tickets or unpaid child support.
On the low end, Driving on a Suspended License is a Class A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 365 days in jail and a $2,500 fine. However, if you have prior Driving on Revoked Convictions you could be charged with up to a Class X felony punishable by 6 – 30 years in the Department of Corrections.
Contact our Springfield Driving on a Suspended License or Driving on a Revoked License Attorneys
Our traffic lawyers are former prosecutors who understand how the traffic laws work. Ideally, the best resolution to your case is for your driver’s license to be reinstated by the Illinois Secretary of State. However, that is not always possible. Our lawyers explore all avenues of Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License including whether there was probable cause to stop the vehicle and whether the prosecutor can prove you were driving.
If you are charged with Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License, contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers in Springfield, Illinois at (217) 414-8889 for a free and confidential initial consultation.