What is a DUI in Illinois? Part 2 of 2
By Dan Noll on April 9th, 2015 in
However, the most critical aspect of all of this is how does the individual actually perform? How did they behave? And commonly the best evidence of this is a video tape if there is one, reading through the police officers police report, other eyewitness testimony if there were other people in the car listening to what the accuse has to say, or a client says, listen I only had one beer, there is no way I was doing all these things.
Other things that can come into a DUI case is medical history. Sometimes there legitimate medical issues that can create false positives on some breathalyzer or causes a person to stumble or wobble, or if they got a bad knee and they can’t do the test, or they have allergies and it’s spring time and it gives them blood shot eyes. There is a whole laundry list of things that can go into a case but in general, a DUI charge in Illinois is a misdemeanor offense for the first offense, which means it is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $2,500 fine.
If you find yourself charged with a DUI in Springfield or any of the contiguous counties, feel free to give our office a call and we’ll be happy to sit with you, talk about your case and see how we can help you.